Monday, 8 July 2013

Tassimo VS Keurig

I do a lot of surveys.  Some pay cash, some points toward cash prizes. Every once in a while a survey company will ask if I want my name to go into the hat for the opportunity to try a product, and then answer questions about it.  I always say sure, but rarely get picked.  However lately I got picked for a doozie.

I did a survey about single serving coffee machines. I didn't have one,  but had been debating about getting one. Didn't know which one. So I guess I was who they were looking for.

The survey company  sent me both a Tassimo and a Keurig machine, and $150 in Visa gift cards to buy coffees.

I was to use each machine for two weeks, and answer 3 surveys about them. I got to keep both machines.

Here are my thoughts.

First of all I am not into flavoured coffees or cappuccinos or lattes. Maybe in the winter, but not now. Also, I am diabetic and have to watch the sugary drinks So I mainly bought just plain coffees, and some hot chocolate, as that what mom likes.  I rarely drink tea.

Tassimo, at least in my part of the world, seemed to have a better selection of flavoured coffees, and speciality blends, Keurig was better on the selection of teas. In the plain coffee selection, it was a draw. Price wise, the Tassimos were on special where I shop, but normally I couldn't see much difference in price locally. Selection was limited for both of them.

With separate milk pods, the Tassimo made better hot chocolates and flavoured drinks, but it was sometime I pain to deal with two separate pods.

As for the machines, they both seemed to brew good coffee. Tassimo was faster to warm up for the first cup in morning, but after that Keurig was quicker and easier to use, and made a hotter coffee. My mom, with her arthritis and lack of strength in her hands, could not handle the Tassimo, but the handle on the Keurig is a piece of cake for her.

It is much simpler to get hot water out of the Keurig, and the select a size of brew is much better and simpler to use.

The water tank on the Tassimo is a better design, easier to handle. The Keurig, while on the side, I find a bit awkward. My  mother cannot handle taking it off, so refills it with a cup.

The Keurig came with an adaptor and filter, so I can use regular coffee, the Tassimo I am limited to using just the pods. Though, I have read in places that you can get a pod to use your own.  Also if the scanner got gummed up the Tassimo would not work, and we would have to figure out how to get it going again.  It is much simpler to pop the k-cup in the Keurig and go.

In both cases when making more than 4 cups at a go, like for a crowd, it was a pain. Unless everyone wants a different kind, using a regular coffee machine is much easier, and probably more cost efficient.

So in my case, the Keurig has become my everyday coffee maker. The other one is being used by my brother.

   I would suggest that if you are into flavoured coffees, go with the Tassimo. If you are like me and just want your cup of coffee, go with the Keurig.

No comments:

Post a Comment